Best Solo Lake Boat

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
Moonman

Best Solo Lake Boat

Post by Moonman »

Hi Everyone,

I was wondering what your thoughts were on the best strip boat for solo lake travel?

Thanks,

Moonman. :thinking
Tom in MN

Solo lake canoe

Post by Tom in MN »

I am not saying this is the best, because I have limited knowledge of other solo canoes, but here is my input. I have built a number of the puddle ducks from Gilpatricks book and this is my favorite canoe. I cut the stems down about 1.5 inches. The nice thing about this boat is its versatility. It is great as a solo canoe, but will also hold two adults. It is a symmetrical canoe, so it can be set up as a tandem, but for soloingone can use the bow seat, facing the stern for soloing. My finished version weighs just over 50 lbs and is super easy to portage.

I also have a 11.5 foot wee lassie, and I am a big fan of the double paddle canoe because of the efficiency. There is also a Wee Lassie II out there that is 13.5 feet long, I have the plans but no time yet to build one. If you are looking for a dedicated solo canoe, you should at least look at the double paddle canoes. I weigh 200 lbs and have paddled my wee lassie with my 45 lbs son sittingin front of me it handled this load pretty good. I also have a friend that weighs 245 lbs and he paddles my wee lassie every chance he gets. There is not much freeboard when he is in it but it handles this weight pretty well. The wee lassie is a very stable canoe because you sit low.

Other options are the Merlin and 38 special.

I think your size is a big consideration, so you may want to post it to help narrow down the options.
Doug

Post by Doug »

May be of interest,
http://www.greenval.com/buy_canoe.html

Doug