Design and supply

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
jeffchem

Design and supply

Post by jeffchem »

Hi all. I'm new to the building scene, and would like to get some experienced input. I'm considering building a solo canoe for some light tripping, fishing, and the occasional trip with my little sister. I'm about 170 lbs (6'1''). I'll be using the boat primarily on lakes and relatiely calm rivers. I was thinking about the Merlin/38 Spl design, though I also considered the Osprey. Does anyone have any input on preferred designs? Also, I live in the New Jersey area and am wondering if anyone knows a relatively local wood source. Thanks for your input.

Jeff
Rick

Post by Rick »

Jeff,
I'm considering building a solo canoe for some light tripping, fishing, and the occasional trip with my little sister... I was thinking about the Merlin/38 Spl design, though I also considered the Osprey.
Both the Merlin/38 and the Osprey are dedicated solos and the seating arrangement would have to be modified if there was going to be another paddler in the canoe. You'll probably be more comfortable in a smaller two-seater tandem that also paddles well solo.

I was looking for some of the same qualities you describe above, along with faster paddling characteristics and better performance in wind and waves, and decided on the Huron. I'm happy with it for a versatile design, but it might be too tippy for those who like sitting and fishing. More stable boats from Bear Mountain would be the Ranger and the Bob's. Other smaller tandem designs could also be Green Valley's Mattawa or Carrying Place's Jack's Special. Another versatile solo/tandem, but larger, hull is the Freedom 17.