Northwest Cruiser

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
revtbru

Northwest Cruiser

Post by revtbru »

Hello all. This is my first ever post here. When found this site a few weeks ago I was very encouraged and impressed with the caliber of resource this site provides.
I'm just getting into canoe building and am getting a start on a 17' Northwest Cruiser , a plan from Northwest Canoe. From my perspective (a limited one, at that), it was a model that could best meet my current paddling needs. After reading CanoeCraft and John Michne's pages and a bunch of other stuff (including much of this site), I decided to modify the base of all the molds to fit the Canoecraft strongback. This seemed to work just fine. I alsi decided to go with stems vs any other option.
I currently have all the molds mounted, plummed and taped and am working on the stems. I also have all my red cedar strips ripped to size and am about to run them through the router table for bead and cove.
I have 2 questions. First, is there anyone out there that has built this model? When I chose it I hadn't realized that it's a pretty recent design. This makes me just a little nervous. I would sure like to see if there are specific things to look out for as I build from someone who has been there before.
Second, when bending my clear pine inside stems, one of the outer strips splintered ever-so-slightly at the hard curve. Can I get by with this or am I asking for trouble?
Thanks for any help,
Tim Brudnicki
Snowman

Post by Snowman »

Tim,

Welcome to the fold! I have to agree that this forum is super. There are lots of folks out there with heaps of experience - and they are willing to help out when required.

I have never built the 17' Northwest Cruiser, and I have not even read much about it. Sorry, I can't help you there.