Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
parrisw

Post by parrisw »

Hey, I just joined here, I also just ordered a set of Plans from Bear mountain boats, for the
16' 0" Canadien. Now going to start collecting materials, and hopefully start to build the strongback. I am new to building boats. Although I do have experience in fine woodworking, and should have most of the tools necessary to build this canoe.

Thanks

Will
Glen Smith

Post by Glen Smith »

Hi Will, welcome aboard. Got any good tools I can borrow???? :laughing

Please post progress reports and pics if possible once the project gets under way.
parrisw

Post by parrisw »

Hey, thanks for the welcome. I haven't even got the plans yet, can't wait to get them, so Im not really sure what I need to start getting in materials. However I did just buy the book, "Canoe Craft" been reading that through so far. I have sent a email off to a local small mill, to see if he can supply me with cedar.

One question. I guess finised dimension for the Cedar is 3/4" thick?? Is it ok to use rought cedar or is machined surface much better to use? Since the local mill will supply me with rough cedar.

Thanks
Glen Smith

Post by Glen Smith »

You can purchase rough lumber if you have access to a planer. Some builders have reported using rough lumber that wasn't "too rough" without having a planer and they did o.k.

If you purchase rough lumber and plane it yourself, you can just take it down to a smooth face on both sides even if it is a bit over 3/4" final thickness. Some strip suppliers make their strips 7/8".

If you route a cove & bead on the strips you will be losing 1/8" on the face width of the strips so strips that are 3/4" wide will actually cover a surface width of 5/8".
parrisw

Post by parrisw »

Cool thanks for the tips. Also what size of router bits do I need to buy to do the bead and cove?

Thanks again