Using Board Buddies

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
adamshatch

Using Board Buddies

Post by adamshatch »

Hello all,

I am about to rip my strips and after searching around this forum I have deceided that board buddies are the way to go. I purchased a pair of yellow board buddies and drilled and tapped my beisemer fence on my unisaw for the optional mounting bracket. I have them all adjusted to the point where I am happy with them, but when I ripped a test board, I realized there was a problem I'm not sure how to deal with.

Having done a lot of woodwork in the past (I am a Technology Teacher - Technology is a fancy way of saying shop) and always use a push stick or block for pushing the boards through the blade. So here is the big question - how do I push the board all the way through the blade if I am doing this by myself? I could see how it would work if I had a helper on the other side to pull the last little bit past the blade and out of the buddies, but I just can't visualise how to do it on my own.

Thanks for your help with this issue,

John
sluggo

Post by sluggo »

Hey John,

I pushed my lumber through the blade until there was maybe 18" inches left (roughly speaking, I can't quite remember). See the pictures below and click on my links at the bottom for more pictures.

cheers
adamshatch

Post by adamshatch »

Thanks for the reply Sluggo. So when you stopped pushing at approx. 18 inches, did you then move around the other side of the saw and pull the board the rest of the way through? If so, do the board buddies hold the board from kickback, or did you maintain your hold on the board as you moved around the saw.

Thanks again,

John
Denis

board buddies

Post by Denis »