Lapstrake Boat Building

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
Yasushi

Lapstrake Boat Building

Post by Yasushi »

Hello all,

I am a Japanese canoe builder, but have built just one stripped Bob’s special few yeas ago. I am in the process of building a lapstrake rowing/sailing small boat, which is a 10’2” Acorn Dinghy designed by Iain Oughtred. This is the first time for me to do such construction. In this process, since I have employed traditional way, I use cupper nail/rove for riveting in order to joint the lapstrake plank, instead of epoxy glue. Besides, I use the polyurethane caulking( 3M #4200) that works as bedding adhesive and caulking among the backbones such as transom, stem, and seam of lapstrake.
The major difference as compared with the strip building is to make a lapstrke plank using the spiling pattern that is used for taking a shape of the curved each plank.
Anyway, if you all have a time, browse my website attached that is showing my Acorn Dinghy project.
:wink :wink
http://www012.upp.so-net.ne.jp/kane-tok ... lding.html

In the meantime, up coming weekend the 3rd Small Crafts Builder’s Rendezvous will be held at Peterborough together with WCHA. Since there is so far away from Japan, I am not able to attend this time. Glen, and all other builders who participate there, I hope you all have enjoyable and successful rendezvous. And I am looking forward to seeing the much of pictures taken there.

Yasushi
Tokyo, Japan
Patricks Dad

Post by Patricks Dad »

Yasushi-san,
Thanks so much for your post on lapstrake. I have been contemplating my next project and am considering a lapstrake rowboat for a change of pace. I will definitely spend much more time looking through your pictures (my Japanese reading skills are nill). Thanks again.
Randy Pfeifer
(847) 341-0618
Randy.Pfeifer1@gmail.com
Juneaudave

Post by Juneaudave »