fixing epoxy mistakes.

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
DaveA

fixing epoxy mistakes.

Post by DaveA »

Hello,
A few weeks ago I glassed the outside of my Prospector. This is my first build. I thought at the time it went well despite my nervousness of this process. However there are some flaws.
1. There are a few "stripes" showing where you can see where I epoxied in sections. I thought I brushed from wet to dry, but maybe not. I do recall noting how when I was about to start on the next section the leading edge appeared "drier". I know there is nothing I can do about this now, but can anyone explain how I can avoid this next time? Fortuneatly, they are generally only visible when viewing at certain angles. You can see an example here just past the end of the stem
http://s1193.photobucket.com/albums/aa3 ... 000186.jpg

2. I did 4 coats, but the last 2 were rolled on and brushed out. There are at least a couple of areas where the epoxy is too thin. I suspect 1 of these I missed on the very important second fill coat, since there is a ridge around it, and I can feel the weave of the glass. The other area just did not get enough. I think rolling the 3rd coat was a mistake. Other posts recommend a foam brush. My plan is to sand the hull (carefully on the thin areas), apply an initial coat to the thin areas. Perhaps by first letting the new epoxy gell a bit before applying. Then do a final coat to the entire hull with a foam brush this time.
Does that sound reasonable?
Recommendations on what sandpaper type and grit to use to prepare it for more epoxy?

Thanks,
Dave
Last edited by DaveA on Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:45 am, edited 2 times in total.
pumpkin

Post by pumpkin »

What resin and hardener did you use.