Scarfing Questions

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
Gufer

Scarfing Questions

Post by Gufer »

Am I being too picky?

First a little background….
I recently started building my first cedar strip kayak, it’s a 16’ 6” Resolute. First of all, I want to say thanks for everyone sharing their knowledge and ideas on this forum. I have turned to it many times for advice already (and will probably do so many times down the line) :laughing . This is my first attempt at building a kayak or any form of watercraft for that matter. I went the bargain route on buying my cedar. A local lumber yard went out of business and I got a deal on it. Problem was, it was rough sawn 5/4 in 10’ lengths with quite a few knots. That translates into a lot of extra work. I don’t mind the work, but when it comes to getting long enough strips I have A LOT of scarf joints to cut and glue. I wanted a way to make it repeatable and somewhat efficient.

I made a jig for cutting the scarf on my table saw. I combined the ideas of using a disc sander and a sled for cutting the scarfs. I mounted a sanding disc in my table saw and adapted the sled to be stationary. I tried using just the sled and a blade, but I could never get a clean edge on the tip of the scarf. When I tried using just the sanding disc alone, I couldn’t get a consistant result. Combining the two works nicely for me, all scarfs are uniform and have a nice crisp tip. I built a jig for gluing the joints as well. Thanks to John Michne! His website has also been very helpful.

Now to the picky part….
My main question is how clean do the completed joints need to be? When sanding the finished product, will that hide any imperfections in the joint? How does applying the glass and epoxy affect the way the joint looks?