shaping stems

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
carles

shaping stems

Post by carles »

Hello, I'm new to canoe building a Ranger 15'. In need of ideas to shape stems. already ruined first set of stem stock. Used spoke shave and chisel. Any info helpful, Thanks
Glen Smith

Re: shaping stems

Post by Glen Smith »

I use 2 tools for stem shaping. A spokeshave and a sanding stick which is just a hardwood stick with 60 grit sandpaper gued on.
BearLeeAlive

Post by BearLeeAlive »

Very similar to Glen here, except I used a good wood rasp as I didn't have a nice sanding stick like that. A spokeshave works great as you have to do a rolling bevel, and it is easy to do that with.
-JIM-
carles

Post by carles »

Thanks for info very helpful, liked the shaping stick
alick burt

Post by alick burt »

Hi Carles
I like using my spokeshave,rasp,smoothing plane,cabinet scraper and sandpaper.I have also found a small belt sander works well.
Use what works well at different stages.Sometimes you will want to take lots off whereas at others a bit of finesse is required.Image
cheers
Alick
wpeluso

Post by wpeluso »

I used a spokeshave and a small handplane to shape the stems on my 17' kayak. I carefully followed the instructions in Ted's book "KayakCraft" about shaping the stem, especially about not trying to shape too much of the stem at one time (3 or 4 strips worth worked for me). Shaping tool needs to be very sharp! Spokeshaves work well when they are very sharp and fine-tuned. Most spokeshaves right out of the box don't usually work too well. Their soles usually need to be flattened and the blade sharpened. I also slightly round the two corners of the blade to prevent it from digging in to the workpiece.
Lie-nielsen's website has a short video about how to set the depth of a spokeshave so it works properly.
Moonman

Post by Moonman »