Any builders near Halifax, Nova Scotia?

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
Grumple

Any builders near Halifax, Nova Scotia?

Post by Grumple »

I'm wondering if there is anyone with a bit of experience on here from the general Halifax area, Nova Scotia that would be willing to do a show and tell sometime?

I'm more seriously ramping up for my first build now and I thought it would be worth checking for a local community. I'd love a chance to see a finished/under construction project and poke questions.
Stein

Re: Any builders near Halifax, Nova Scotia?

Post by Stein »

Hi:

I am in Saint John NB (pretty close to you) and am building a Freedom 15" canoe. I am cutting the strips now and will bead and cove them soon. This is my first build too.

Brian
Grumple

Post by Grumple »

Awesome! I'll send you a message, at the very least maybe we can compare notes as we go!

I was delayed all summer by house/yard projects, etc. I literally just planed my boards today, and will be cutting strips tomorrow. =)
Stein

Post by Stein »

Which canoe are you building. Also are you using western red cedar?
Grumple

Post by Grumple »

I'm building the Huron Cruiser, and yeah I'm using WRC along with a bit of Aspen/dark walnut tht I'm going to try to make a few accent strips from.

I just sent you a PM with more chatty details. =)
rmoffat

Post by rmoffat »

Hey Halifax & Saint John,