Slight Alignment Issues with Stem

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
Kermit

Slight Alignment Issues with Stem

Post by Kermit »

I calved this off from my Freedom 17'9 Update post, hoping it wont get lost in the pile of photos...

Here is the issue, the stern stem shifted slightly, and now I have about a milimeter of endgrain showing on the starboard side.... :crying

What are my best options for alleviating this situation? I am thinking of either;

1) Filling with unthickened epoxy, to keep grain and just level out.
2) Filling with thinkened and tinted... to cover up.
3) Elmers natural non-solvent wood filler (closest to ash colour)

Thoughts?

Chris
Grumple

Re: Slight Alignment Issues with Stem

Post by Grumple »

Being a newbie I'm afraid I'm not much help, but out of curiosity, do you know what caused the shift?
Kermit

Post by Kermit »

:crying

Not screwing it in... really wasn't comfortable with screwing as my stem were made a tad small to begin with. Also the stern was the first time I have ever used that much two part epoxy, and I was petrified of touching/moving the parts. Got over that fast with the bow stem. :tu

Chris
Patricks Dad

Post by Patricks Dad »

I'm not sure I see a big problem here. You ought to be able to simply take the stem down a bit further to make it fair with the hull. That will of course result in a somewhat narrower outer stem edge. If that is important or a concern to you, you can always sand the stem a bit shallower so that the desired width is restored. Unless you are planning on using a stem band with a specific width you need to support, a somewhat narrower stem edge shouldn't be a concern.
Randy Pfeifer
(847) 341-0618
Randy.Pfeifer1@gmail.com
Kermit

Post by Kermit »

Randy,