Squaring rough lumber without a jointer?

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
Grumple

Squaring rough lumber without a jointer?

Post by Grumple »

Hello,

Just looking for some general advice on the first stage of producing strips. I have little experience milling rough lumber so I'm going to be relying on the internets, and plenty of scrap wood tests. =P

I have some long WRC boards (ie 1" x 6" x 18-20'), which are rough, but in pretty good shape. A few are slightly bowed (ie ends warped upwards laying flat), and a few are slightly crooked (warped sideways laying flat).

My first question, is how perfect do they need to be for making strips? I have a thickness planer, and was going to plane them down to 3/4, and accept any remaining bow after the planing process. Is this ok? If not, how to further fix the bow?

I am more concerned about the crook messing up my strip thickness during ripping, so I really want to do my best to ensure I create at least one truly straight edge of the board that will run along the table saw fence when stripping. Does this make sense?

To fix the crook without a jointer, the two most promising techniques I've found both involve using two-sided tape to attach a straight edge (ie factory edge(s) of plywood) to the board. One technique involves running a router across the board with the attached straight edge as a guide. The other involves letting the straight edge overhang one side of board, then running it through the table saw with the straight edge against the fence, cutting the other side perfectly straight.

The table saw technique seems easiest to me, even though I'll need to create a very long straight edge, etc.

Any thoughts, suggestions, advice? I'd like to get this first (important) step right without wrecking a pile of expensive lumber... :thinking
Jim Dodd

Re: Squaring rough lumber without a jointer?