Cedar Strip Repair Advice

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
Torch Red Tulsan

Cedar Strip Repair Advice

Post by Torch Red Tulsan »

After several years of dreaming of building a cedar strip canoe, I was fortunate enough to inherit one this past weekend! It been passed from person to person over the last 15+ years with each one intending to fix it up. Now it's my turn, and I REALLY want to get it back on the water. I am an absolute amateur though. I've spent the last 3 days reading the forums and watching videos to get a better understanding, but I wanted to get as much advice as possible. About the only thing I'm pretty sure on is that I'd like to use West Systems' epoxy products.

Here are the pictures of what's going on with the canoe. I'll post a list of everything going on, but I'd like to prioritize and focus on one thing at a time as it's all going to be a learning experience.

Here's the list of what I see, my best guess at how to correct it, and my best guess at the order of priority.
  • Hole in the side - Epoxy filling
  • Crack in floor - Epoxy filling
  • Delaminated fiberglass - Sand down and remove/replace fiberglass
  • Darkened wood - Rotted
  • Split inwale(?) - Epoxy
  • Weathered decking - Sand and varnish
  • No thwarts
Now for the pictures

Hole

Crack in floor

Delaminated Fiberglass

Darkened Wood

I have more pictures that I can share, but I'll just leave it with these for now so I don't blow up anyone's bandwidth.
Cruiser

Re: Cedar Strip Repair Advice

Post by Cruiser »

That poor boat looks like it has taken a fair amount of abuse ... but as with all questions and posted pics, I have a few more questions:

1. Is that the original finish on the fiberglass or has some one sanded that already?
2. Where is that boat being stored (and for how long)? I am trying to determine if it has been (or is) stored outdoors.