Blade Shaping

Post questions & answers about; paddle selection, building and maintenance; paddling techniques; boat transportation, storage & maintenance.
randall

Blade Shaping

Post by randall »

Hi Folks
I am new to this forum and must say there are a lot of clever ideas availabe here. Love Dale's idea on using play-do for the epoxy tip. I am a wooden boat builder in New Zealand but until recently (shame on me) have never built a paddle. Just finished a 2 person Waka Ama (outrigger canoe) for a client who also wants bent shaft paddles made.
Having read books and searched out info on paddle making I started out as per most instructions with hand planing the blades to shape BUT soon had to try my 4" disk-grinder sander to see how it would work. I use this a lot in general boat building for all sorts of shaping etc and it worked a treat on paddle shaping.
I know, not very traditional but it seems to be able to do the job just a well as my hand plane.
I am just wondering what other folks are using for shaping before I start feeling a bit guilty about not doing this traditionally.
Cheers
Juneaudave

Post by Juneaudave »

I predomenently use an electric hand plane on the blade to do the rough shaping and a spokeshave on the shaft and grip. I don't see anything "wrong" with a grinder at all except for the dust...Have fun and post some pics of that outrigger!
KARKAUAI

Post by KARKAUAI »

Welcome aboard, Randall,
Glad to see somebody else building an outrigger. I'm using Gary Dierking's Ulua plans. I'd like to know who drew your plans, and how they compare to Ulua. Will she be rigged to sail?
A hui ho,
Kent
randall

Post by randall »

Thanks for that Kent