Can't decide on a short kayak

You don't know which boat you should build to suit your personal needs? Please post your questions here and our many contributors will surely have some good advice.
rabblerouser

Can't decide on a short kayak

Post by rabblerouser »

This is my first time building, and I plan to build a short kayak (about 15 feet) because I simply don't have the room to build a longer version.

I'm fairly new to kayaking, 5'7 and about 150-160 lbs.

The designs i was considering are the venture, 14 foot great auk, and caspian sea. I strongly prever the venture because it looks nice, and because i have already cut some of the wood, including the sheer clamps that are unique to this design.

However, i am worried about the relative instability of this boat. Any thoughts?
Glen Smith

Post by Glen Smith »

As you say, the instability is relative. I have a Venture and it does feel tippy on calm water. It loves rougher water though and feels very stable when paddled through waves of any size (or almost). However, I only weigh 125 pounds so I don't get the Venture down to the design waterline which makes it feel even tippier. With your weight it should handle much better and you would probably get used to the feeling in short time.
rabblerouser

Post by rabblerouser »

Yeah i'm thinking of just going with the original idea and building a venture anyways.

However, the other boats seems to have 2" wider beams at the water line and harder chines. I'm worried about tipping :(
Glen Smith

Post by Glen Smith »

As I already stated, the Venture will be more stable with your weight than with mine. The only time I actually flipped with the Venture, I was paddling in conditions unfit for a novice like myself and got caught by a 6 foot reflecting wave off the dock. Under "normal" paddling conditions I would put my trust in the Venture. One of my daughters paddled the Venture as her first kayaking experience and enjoyed it.