New to building boats

You don't know which boat you should build to suit your personal needs? Please post your questions here and our many contributors will surely have some good advice.
jess_hawk

New to building boats

Post by jess_hawk »

Hello!

I have been looking for plans to build my own kayak for more than a year now, and have mostly just managed to confuse myself. I have some woodworking experience and will also be relying on my dad's expertise in the area - he would like to build a canoe. I am open to strip, plywood, skin-on-frame, or stitch-and-glue designs, and he would prefer his using the strip method. To follow are more detailed descriptions of what each of us is looking for.

I am a beginning kayaker with a lot of flatwater canoe experience. I tried a kayak on a river trip with my scout group and fell in love with the greater manueverability it allowed me. I also like the look of kayaks better than canoes. I am 5'4" and 170 lbs. I would like a small kayak that would be manageable both on shore and on the water as a solo vessel (single seater, of course). Straight tracking is less important to me than the ability to turn on a dime, and I am also less concerned with stability than your average beginner (though that doesn't mean I want a boat that is overly tipsy). I will be using the kayak almost entirely on flatwater (flatwater rivers and small lakes), but would love to try out whitewater when I get a chance. I may use the kayak for trips up to a week, but especially for longer trips there will be canoes around, so luggage capacity doesn't have to be large - mostly just enough for a day pack.