Tripping design for lightweights

You don't know which boat you should build to suit your personal needs? Please post your questions here and our many contributors will surely have some good advice.
cshearly

Tripping design for lightweights

Post by cshearly »

Hi all,
Being new to this forum I hope I am not repeating a post. My wife and I have a combined weight of 185lbs. We currently are using a Freedom 16/6 (kevlar) on our visits to Algonquin park and, even when loaded down with gear we find that we don't have enough weight to cause it to track well and the wind tends to throw us around due to the high level of exposed freeboard.
I have some experience building kayaks and was thinking of building a scaled down version of the Freedom design that would ride better for our weight but need some help in detemining the ratio to scale down the boat for the reduced weight. I have the "Canoecraft" book with the Freedom 17 design and was thinking of scaling it down to something around a 15. However, the Freedom 15 on this site looks like it has very similar loading requirements to the 16/6 that we already use.
Does anyone have any suggestions for a boat that is optimally loaded at around 300lbs rather than the 400lbs for which most seem to be designed? This would presumably also make it into a lighter canoe for portaging. Although I like the design of the Freedom, I'd be interested in hearing from people who have had success in this area with other designs.
Thanks!
Glen Smith

Post by Glen Smith »

Perhaps this info: http://www.bearmountainboats.com/CanoeTechnical.htm will help you select a design that has an "optimum capacity" in your range.

Welcome to the Forum. I am also a lightweight paddler as well as my usual partners. This often forces me to design my own canoes and kayaks which can be quite a pleasant adventure of its own.
frugal

Post by frugal »