Champlain 16 high ender

You don't know which boat you should build to suit your personal needs? Please post your questions here and our many contributors will surely have some good advice.
Dvan

Champlain 16 high ender

Post by Dvan »

This is a question for the anyone at Bear Mountain and this forum. I am thinking of building the Champlain 16 high ender for my next canoe (I just started the Prospector 16) in the description it says there was a low ender built on the same molds so if I order the plans or the CNC cut stations will the low ender sheer marks be included? If not what is the best way to go about making the second set of marks? Is there a formula or can I do it by eyeball? I really like the look of the high ender but I also like the fact I can build two different looking canoes off the same molds. I am still a novice paddler only putting in 20 to 30 miles a year on lakes and streams do you think the Champlain would be a good canoe for a novice? I am building the Prospector right now for stability to try and teach my girlfriend, 1 year old and 4 year old to canoe and it can haul all 4 of us without a problem. I would also like to thank Bear mountain and this forum for all the invaluable information I have poured over for weeks and weeks before I started working on my canoe. Thank you all!
Rick

Post by Rick »

I am still a novice paddler only putting in 20 to 30 miles a year on lakes and streams do you think the Champlain would be a good canoe for a novice?
Maybe not but since you are building a Prospector, a Champlain would paddle differently... you'd probably find it good kneeling solo and leaned over Canadian style, after you became more proficient. I haven't had the opportunity to compare them both, others that have, said a Prospector is slower by comparision and the Champlain more of a pleasure to paddle solo... but they were expert paddlers.