Best Design for a Novice Builer?

You don't know which boat you should build to suit your personal needs? Please post your questions here and our many contributors will surely have some good advice.
fromagefro

Best Design for a Novice Builer?

Post by fromagefro »

Hi,
Any design suggestions for a first-time builder?
I'm a first time builder, looking for a 2 person canoe, and want to make sure that I'm setting myself up for success.
Thanks!
Jim Dodd

Re: Best Design for a Novice Builer?

Post by Jim Dodd »

Welcome aboard !

Most of the tandems are similar in building difficulty. Those with shearlines that have a steep up curve can be a challenge for bending the gunnels.

There is a lot of good advice here, you just need to search it out. There are some differing opinions, and you will need to sort them out for yourself.

Things I recommend for success to a beginner, First Bead and Cove your strips! you need only a simple router table, router and a set of bits. This will save you as much money, sanding and general difficulty as anything !
Simple tools, a 5" ROS. I love cutting my strips the "Skilsaw method", I've posted pics here.
A good Japanese pull saw, lots and lots of clamps.
If you chose stapleless, the time to strip a canoe is greatly increased as compared to using staples. I have no problem with staples, and have built all of my canoes using them.

Most of all have fun !

Jim
Keep your paddle wet and your seat dry!
Cruiser

Post by Cruiser »

You are in for such a great experience, it's takes some patience and persistence, but it is very rewarding.

Canoe selection for either buying or building is the same (mostly), it all starts with a list of "stuff" like:
- where am I going to use
- how am I going use
- how much do the regular paddlers weigh
- how much gear
- am I going to be portaging
- experience of the paddlers
- what appeals to my eye