Fast curing glue and Floorboards

If you know a good tip or technique to help get through a construction "stumbling block", please post it here. If you have questions concerning building problems, please post them on the "Builders' Forum".
Frank99

Fast curing glue and Floorboards

Post by Frank99 »

Hi, new here, I just ordered a Ted Moores and Steve Killing designed Prospector kit from local Dutch supplier.
It will be my first strip planked canoe. I have some experience in building two 30' traditional Dutch boats (boeier) in lapstrake and carvel. But that was some 30 years ago. Ever since I've been restauring old farms and I have a fully heated and equipped shop for making doors, windows, blinds, furniture at a leasurely pace.

I've done all the reading in Ted's book and looking at numerous videos, so I hope to have some idea of the job ahead.

I was wondering on a few points:

1. I'll follow Ted's advice to strip plank bead up. In order to speed up stapleless planking would it be feasible to use fast curing wood glue for the easy to fit strips? The glue I was looking at is Pattex Houtlijm Express D2 with a setting time of 4-15 minutes, using simple jigs and tape.
Stapleless glueing
Stapleless glueing
2. Has anyone installed floorboards in the Prospector? I was thinking of using the moulds as a mould to make three or five supports and fillet/glue these to the bottom with epoxy glue. I hate to see someone step through the bottom :crying .

I hope you don't mind me coming back here for additional questions.

Thanks,

Frank
Cruiser

Re: Fast curing glue and Floorboards

Post by Cruiser »

Hi Frank, welcome to the forum ... you are going to love this build.

As far as glue goes there are several things to consider.

When stripping in colder weather, glues have a minimum curing temp, called a chalking temp, if you go below that the glue loses integrity and bonds nothing, so check the recommended range for the glue you use.