Oak and epoxy

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
Rick

Oak and epoxy

Post by Rick »

In the previous forum, it was generally agreed that epoxy shouldn't be used with oak, because the acid or tannin in the wood could create problems with bonding. Earlier, I had made some tool handles using oak, by epoxying the saw or knife blade in between two halves of the handle and clamping. These have held up during several years of use with no signs of separation.

Here's another opinion found by googling around:

I have been using Gougeon Brothers epoxy for 20 years on many different woods,
including oak. They have a newsletter that I have been receiving and reading over
these same years. I have never heard of the oak/epoxy imcompatability...maybe I
missed it but it seems something that important would come up often. There is a
problem with teak and epoxy due to the oiliness but they suggested in the past that
you wipe down the teak with acetone to remove oils before epoxying. I have done
this with teak and it worked fine.

http://www.rtpnet.org/robroy/baidarka/1 ... /0157.html

Others have said that red oak will epoxy better than white, because it has a more porous structure, and that sanding oak across the grain will allow for a better bond. And there have been pages warning not to use oak and epoxy as well.

Has anyone actully tried this and had epoxy fail on oak? As I wrote above, my tool handles haven't showed any signs of separation, but they might not get the same stresses that the trim on a canoe would.

Rick

Post by Guest »

After the discussion on the last forum, I contacted Gougeon Brothers to get their thoughts on compatibility of epoxy with red oak. They (very quickly) replied that West epoxy was completely compatible. They were unaware of any problems.
Peter Hyde

Oak and epoxy

Post by Peter Hyde »