Inwale screws

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
Phildub

Inwale screws

Post by Phildub »

Hi team.
I'm a virgin boat builder, having a go at a strip canoe. I'm at the stage of fitting my 20mm (~3/4") scuppered inwales. The instructions I have say to use 1/2" #4 screws to fix them to the hull and 1 1/4" #8 screws for the outwales.

I have 2 questions:
1. a #4 screw seems quite lightweight. Is there any disadvantage using a heavier gauge screw such as a #6 or #8 (maybe more chance of splitting the wood?) or is the #4 sufficiently strong to hold the inwale until the larger outwale screw goes right through the whole lot?
2. Do people recommend stainless screws or can I get away with galvanised (cheaper). My cabinetbuilder mate says stainless can be more brittle going into hardwood and he's had the odd one's head shear off, so I want to get this sort of detail right!

Any advice appreciated :o)
Cruiser

Re: Inwale screws

Post by Cruiser »

Jim will wade in on this, he uses scuppered gunnels, so he has the experience to comment.

Brian
Patricks Dad

Post by Patricks Dad »

I would not use galvanized screws. Silicon bronze are common. Drilled and countersunk to avoid high torque situations. I however have never screwed my gunwales in place. I apply them with thickened epoxy only. If you have plans on removing your gunwales, screws is the way to go but if you don't intend to take them off, just epoxy them on.
Randy Pfeifer
(847) 341-0618
Randy.Pfeifer1@gmail.com
Cruiser

Post by Cruiser »

I am in the "epoxy them in" house as well ... i view screws as extra weight and I don't ever plan on removing gunnels.
Jim Dodd

Post by Jim Dodd »

Every builder has their method and reasons for it ! I guess that's why they don't all look alike !