Widest strip that can be used

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
ericpatw

Widest strip that can be used

Post by ericpatw »

I'm a first time builder. I've purchased WRC rough boards that are a full 1 1/8" x 6". I see that the common size is 3/4" thick. Can I plane to 1" and cut strips 1/4"x 1" realizing that they will end at 7/8" for build? Hate to waste good lumber.
Jim Dodd

Re: Widest strip that can be used

Post by Jim Dodd »

ericpatw wrote: Fri Nov 06, 2020 9:23 am I'm a first time builder. I've purchased WRC rough boards that are a full 1 1/8" x 6". I see that the common size is 3/4" thick. Can I plane to 1" and cut strips 1/4"x 1" realizing that they will end at 7/8" for build? Hate to waste good lumber.
I too, hate to waste lumber.

Many times, because the planks I bought were #3 and better, I would find planks 1"+.
You should have no trouble, especially if you bead and cove them, with a 7/8" width strip !

The bilge area, would be your only area to give you trouble. I doubt it.

What design are you thinking of ?

Jim
Keep your paddle wet and your seat dry!
Cruiser

Post by Cruiser »

The boat is the first question that needs to be asked when you talk of building with wider strips. If it's a fairly straight boat (as canoes go, think Freedom 17, Kipawa) then you are fine with strips that tend to be wider. If there is tumblehome and curves (think Freedom Solo) then there are a few tight turns in the hull, in that case you can just do some full width, slice some in half and make a batch of narrower strips for the twisty/curvy sections.

Brian
sedges

Post by sedges »