Mold Fair? & Upper/Lower Center Line - Bob’s Special

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
EvanstonBay

Mold Fair? & Upper/Lower Center Line - Bob’s Special

Post by EvanstonBay »

Good morning,

I am a first time builder and I’ve come across two points I cannot seem to address on my own after reading/watching videos. The first question is coming to test whether the molds are fair after setting up all the stations and batten down the keel. Each resource says that the batten “should touch the edge of each mold.” Is simply touching the edge of the mold enough? I’m just worried that there is not enough mold hitting the plank so as a staple will not nicely attach when needed.

Second, I’ve hit a point where when I get all the molds nicely set up under the top center line, they are not nicely set up on the lower center line (some are on, some are maybe 1/8” or 1/16” off). If I align them on the lower center line, same thing with the top line. I am not sure why this has happened. Some center lines on the molds where done with a fine point pen while others with a dull pencil so the cut at the tops could be off for that reason (by just a smudge) and my stern also was bowed so getting the lower center line was difficult. That said, Mold Station 0 and Mold Stations 6 are all center on upper and lower center line. I suppose the question is which is more key, having them aligned on the upper line or lower line?

Thank you in advance,
Ryan
Cruiser

Re: Mold Fair? & Upper/Lower Center Line - Bob’s Special

Post by Cruiser »

Hi Ryan,

When checking for fair, the batten will likely only ever hit flat on the middle mold, on all the rest the batten is going to be curving to the bow/stern, so it should only hit the corner of each mold, nearest the end it is going to. Those mold edges run parallel with the the strongback, while the batten is curving to the last mold.