Rudder vs. No Rudder

Welcome to the new Bear Mountain Builders Forum - an interactive internet service we provide to encourage communication between canoe and kayak builders
Damooser

Rudder vs. No Rudder

Post by Damooser »

:thinking I am a new Kayak builder and I am not sure whether to include a rudder into my Resolute or not. I plan to be mostly paddling in lakes and type I streams, but eventually I'd like to try ocean kayaking off of the west coast. Any help?
Erik, Belgium

Post by Erik, Belgium »

this topic has been discussed times and times before on http://www.kayakforum.com
You have some who are PRO and others who vote AGAINST.
Try to paddle a few times with and without, and make up your own mind. Most depends on your paddle skills, on the boat's characteristics, and on the worst kind of weather you will be paddling.
A rudder often is NOT necessary on a kayak (nor on a canoe).

Erik, Belgium
Glen Smith

Post by Glen Smith »

When I built my Resolute, I had never paddled a kayak before. I have found that a rudder was not necessary under any of the conditions I have paddled in, be it lake, river or the Mighty St-Lawrence River. I did however epoxy a block of wood inside the stern in case I ever want to add one.
Doug

Post by Doug »

After paddling my Endeavour for a year now, without a rudder, I'll never use a rudder again.
I did not install one, because of time & $$$.
The only thing that I can think of that they are useful for is (maybe) tracking.
With paddle / stroke modification you can easily adjust to the tracking.
Without a rudder I can turn on the length of the kayak.
I actually think I can do a 180 degree turn fasted without a rudder than with one.
One less thing to break down.
Paddling with out a rudder does take several hours to get use.

Happy paddling,
Doug